DIY 3 ingredient Mascara – Updated 14th September 2017

eye open

I recently needed to replace my mascara and having read about some fellow zero wasters who’d made their own, I was intrigued. It took me a while to find a recipe with ingredients that i could access easily but I finally settled on a modified version of this one from The Green Lassie

  • ¼ tsp activated charcoal (I used the inners of activated charcoal capsules)
  • ¼ tsp bentonite clay (or another loose powder such as cornstarch)
  • 4-5 drops of grapeseed oil (or coconut/ jojoba/ olive oil / almond)
  1. Take activated charcoal and mix well with bentonite clay
  2. Add 4-5 drops of oil and mix a little
  3. Add your water until smooth, making sure to scrape the sides of the bowl
  4. After a few minutes, you’ll get a smooth consistency which you can then pour into a small container. If the mixture is too think add a few more drops of oil.
  5. Let the mixture sit for at least an hour before applying.

Verdict:
I’m really happy with this mascara and I doubt I’ll ever by mascara again. I found it stays on very well during the day and doesn’t smudge and it’s easy peasy to remove at the end of the day. (Update: 14th September 2017. I’ve had to call it a day on the DIY mascara. As time past the mascara got more and more flaky and a few minutes after application I would look like an orphaned panda. I saw a positive review of a creamy cake style mascara on the blog of another zero waster, The Rogue Ginger. I think this might be a better route to investigate. So I’ll keep trying a few recipes and report back with updates.)

I’ve seen similar recipes using aloe vera instead or shea butter instead of oil. I did try making mascarea with burnt almonds, as suggested by Bea Johnson, but I found I couldn’t grind the almonds down fine enough and the end result just irritated my eyes. So I switched to activated charcoal capsules which have a very fine powder inside. Just break the capsule open and voila finely ground charcoal. I couldn’t find activated charcoal without plastic packaging but the container of capsules will last me years and is recyclable. I found the activated charcoal capsules in Down to Earth, D2, the bentonite clay and the almond oil in the Co Wicklow based store Bomar.ie.

I found bentonite clay in the Co Wicklow based store Bomar.ie and the activated charcoal capsules in Down to Earth, D2

E

Leave a Reply

